Home/United States/Colorado/El Paso County
Data centers in El Paso County, Colorado: 3 projects mapped
The Colorado Springs City Council will decide on April 13, 2027 whether Project Taurus, a 50-megawatt AI data center, can go ahead. California-based Raeden wants to convert a former Intel chip plant off Garden of the Gods Road, west of Centennial Boulevard, beside the Chelsea Glen neighborhood. City planners approved the plan in June and the Planning Commission upheld it in July with a 50-megawatt power cap, but two groups appealed to the council. On September 17 the council voted 7-2 to put off its decision until a week after the April city election.
At 50 megawatts, Taurus would be by far Colorado Springs Utilities' largest customer; the utility's biggest data center customer today uses about six. Neighbors fear the low hum that the city's noise rules, written in dBA, do not measure. "We wouldn't be saying no to data centers. We'd be saying no to this data center at this location," Councilman Dave Donelson said. Raeden's lawyer, Caitlin Quander, answered: "This is not a referendum on data centers." Police made several arrests at the September meeting after a resident took up a megaphone.
In August Mayor Yemi Mobolade issued six data center standards requiring large projects to pay for the power infrastructure they need and to protect the city's water supply. North of the city, Monument voted on July 20, 2026 for a six-month moratorium, the first in El Paso County, though no project has applied. Novva Data Centers runs a smaller data center in Colorado Springs, bought at 6 megawatts with plans to grow it to 30.
Data center projects on record in El Paso County
Grouped by the town each site sits in. The report above may name projects that have no record here yet.
Colorado Springs3
| Project | Company | Status | Power | |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Project TaurusColorado Springs | Raeden | Approved | 50 MW | |
| Novva Colorado SpringsColorado Springs | Novva Data Centers | 40 MW | ||
| T5 Colorado SpringsColorado Springs | T5 Data Centers | Not reported | Not reported | Source off site ↗ |
Where this comes from
The reporting above was written from these. Open one and check it yourself.
Moratoriums and bans in effect
Pauses on new data centers covering this area.
| Place | Type | Started | Ends | |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| MonumentTown or city | Moratorium | Jul 20, 2026 | Jan 20, 2027 | Record off site ↗ |
Every project above is drawn from public records, filings and local reporting. Each row links to what it is based on. Statuses change, so check the source date before you rely on one. Found something wrong? Write to [email protected] and it gets fixed.