Global Data Centers.formerly Florida Data Centers

Home/United States/Washington/King County

Data centers by place

Data centers in King County, Washington: 4 projects mapped

4 projects tracked
·
1 proposed or being built
·
3 operating
·
74 MW from the 2 active projects that report a figure
·
3 moratoriums and bans in effect
Sabey Intergate.Seattle (East / West) (Operating, 54 MW)Starbucks Data Center (Proposed, 20 MW)Digital Realty Seattle (Westin Building) (Operating)Equinix SE4 (Kent) (Operating)
Imagery: Esri, Maxar
Tracked projectBigger dot, more power4 sites shown

Seattle's City Council voted 9-0 on June 9, 2026, for a one-year moratorium on new data centers over 20 megavolt-amperes, after Seattle City Light said four companies had approached it about five data centers totaling 369 megawatts, about a third of the city's average daily use. One of those, a 20-megawatt data center that Colossus Data Center Advisors proposed for a former Amazon Fresh store inside the Starbucks Center in SoDo, was sized to stay just under the ban's threshold. Sabey Data Centers withdrew a separate 68-megawatt request at its Tukwila campus.

The vote followed a fierce public response. Residents organized by 350 Seattle, Troublemakers and the Seattle chapter of the Democratic Socialists of America sent emails that councilmembers said topped 98,000, citing strain on a power grid Seattle City Light itself said would struggle with that much new load, plus water use during a state drought emergency. "These communities should not be treated as sacrifice zones," Rebecca Young told a council committee, arguing new sites would likely land in South Seattle and Tukwila neighborhoods that already carry industrial pollution.

Read more

The city's roughly 30 existing data centers, including Sabey's 54-megawatt Tukwila campus and Digital Realty's colocation site in the Westin Building downtown, can each expand by up to 20 MVA under the moratorium. Digital Realty also filed plans 11 days before the vote for a data center at a former Bed Bath & Beyond site downtown; whether its earlier paperwork lets that project proceed anyway may end up with permitting officials or the courts.

Seattle City Light's new rate rules for any customer seeking 10 megavolt-amperes or more, adopted in July, apply across its full service area, including Tukwila, Burien, SeaTac and unincorporated King County. The city must hold a public hearing on the moratorium and expects permanent zoning rules in early 2027; a state bill requiring data centers to disclose their environmental impact died without a Senate vote this year.

Data center projects on record in King County

Grouped by the town each site sits in. The report above may name projects that have no record here yet.

Seattle2
ProjectCompanyStatusPower
Starbucks Data CenterSeattle Colossus Data Center Advisors Proposed 20 MW
Digital Realty Seattle (Westin Building)Seattle Digital Realty Operating Not reported Source off site ↗
Kent1
ProjectCompanyStatusPower
Equinix SE4 (Kent)Kent Equinix Operating Not reported
Tukwila1
ProjectCompanyStatusPower
Sabey Intergate.Seattle (East / West)TukwilaExact site not confirmed Sabey Data Centers Operating 54 MW

Where this comes from

The reporting above was written from these. Open one and check it yourself.

Moratoriums and bans in effect

Pauses on new data centers covering this area.

PlaceTypeStartedEnds
Federal WayTown or city Moratorium Jul 8, 2026 Jul 8, 2027 Record off site ↗
BurienTown or city Moratorium Jun 30, 2026 Jun 30, 2027 Record off site ↗
SeattleTown or city Moratorium Jun 9, 2026 Jun 9, 2027 Record off site ↗

Every project above is drawn from public records, filings and local reporting. Each row links to what it is based on. Statuses change, so check the source date before you rely on one. Found something wrong? Write to [email protected] and it gets fixed.