Global Data Centers.formerly Florida Data Centers

Home/United States/Indiana

Data centers by place

Data centers in Indiana: 42 projects mapped

42 projects tracked
·
25 proposed or being built
·
5 operating
·
11 stopped or paused
·
1 with no stage on record
·
4,278 MW from the 15 active projects that report a figure
·
23 moratoriums and bans in effect
Meta Lebanon (Under construction, 1,000 MW)Anthropic-Amazon New Carlisle (Operating, expanding, 910 MW)Sentinel Data Center: Project Shirley (Approved, 500 MW)Meta Jeffersonville (Under construction, 178 MW)Google Franklin Township (Withdrawn)CoreWeave Hammond (Suspended, 180 MW)QTS Porter County (Withdrawn)Sabey Decatur Township (Indianapolis) (Approved, 250 MW)PowerHouse Hobart (Indiana) (Proposed, 450 MW)Fluidstack Sullivan County AI Factory (New Lebanon, Indiana) (Under construction, 430 MW)Provident Realty Advisors (Withdrawn)Logistix Data Center (Blocked, 300 MW)American Tower Edge Data Center (Indianapolis) (Suspended, 4 MW)Prologis data center (Kosciusko County, near Leesburg) (Blocked)Surge Development data center (Buck Creek Township) (Withdrawn)Province Group Data Center (Proposed, 400 MW)Mall-O-Manor LLC Data Center (Blocked)Provident Realty Advisors Data Center (Withdrawn)Agincourt (Cancelled)Brightwood Data Center (Approved, 72 MW)Thunderbird Commerce Center Project (Approved, 52 MW)IND1 (Operating, 4.4 MW)Qlever Data Center (Proposed, 5 MW)DartPoints Data Center (Operating, expanding, 1 MW)US Signal Data Center (Operating, 2 MW)Radius Data Center (Approved, 24 MW)Google Fort Wayne (Under construction)Google Monroe Township (Morgan County) (Under construction)Microsoft La Porte (Under construction)Microsoft Mishawaka (Proposed)AWS Hobart Indiana (Proposed)AWS Wheatfield (Project Rise) (Approved)Equinix Indianapolis Hub (IP1) (Not reported)Karis Critical Data Center (Proposed)Wylie Capital Data Center (Proposed)Jumping Bison LLC Data Center (Proposed)Project Redline (Proposed)Lifeline Data Center (Operating)Jefferson Proving Ground Data Center (Proposed)Project Maize (Approved)Prologis Shelbyville Data Center (Approved)Blue Ladder Data Center "Project Wolcott" (Proposed)
Imagery: Esri, Maxar
Tracked projectStopped or pausedBigger dot, more power42 sites shown

Indianapolis has stopped approving new data centers. The Metropolitan Development Commission voted 6-0 on August 19, 2026 to put a moratorium on new data center projects in Marion County through the end of 2027, after the City-County Council passed it 23-1 on August 10. Three projects approved earlier are exempt and still going ahead: Sabey Data Centers' campus in Decatur Township, Metrobloks' $500 million data center in Martindale-Brightwood, and DC Blox's $2 billion campus on a former Ford plant site near Irvington.

Much of the state is moving the same way. By the middle of 2026, Indiana University's Environmental Resilience Institute counted 11 counties with data center ordinances, at least 17 with temporary moratoriums, and two, Marshall and Cass, that have banned new data centers altogether. In Boone County, home to Meta's $10 billion data center in Lebanon, commissioners unanimously approved a one-year moratorium in the unincorporated county on June 15, 2026; it runs through June 15, 2027. Jeffersonville's city council approved a one-year pause on August 3, after New Albany passed one in July.

Councilor Michael-Paul Hart, the only Indianapolis council vote against the pause, said it would leave officials less prepared to deal with developers: "In 2028, there will be a fresh batch of some councilors that are not going to be as educated as the councilors that we have now." While the Indianapolis pause runs, a committee of experts and residents is to study campus size, building height, environmental impacts and sound levels before the city writes permanent rules.

21 counties with tracked projects

Only places with at least one project have a page.

Where this comes from

The reporting above was written from these. Open one and check it yourself.

Where people here have won

Projects stopped by a vote, pulled by their developer, or blocked in court.

PlaceWhat happenedDateSize
Franklin Township, IndianapolisGoogle (Deep Meadows LLC), Project Flo Withdrawn by the developer Google pulled its rezoning minutes before the City-County Council was expected to vote it down. Sep 22, 2025 468 acres, 4 buildings
McCordsville, Hancock CountySurge Development Withdrawn by the developer Surge withdrew the rezoning for more than 700 acres a week before the vote, after opposition over farmland and the orchard next door. May 13, 2025 more than 700 acres
Leesburg, Kosciusko CountyPrologis Denied by a vote County commissioners voted 3-0 against the rezoning after a 1,000+ signature petition, and Prologis said it would not look elsewhere in the county. Apr 22, 2025 554 acres
ChestertonProvident Realty Advisors Withdrawn by the developer Developer withdrew after residents organized and the Town Council said it could never support the project. Jun 10, 2024 200 acres, 8 buildings

Moratoriums and bans in effect

Places in Indiana that have paused or banned new data centers.

PlaceTypeStartedEnds
IndianapolisTown or city Moratorium Aug 19, 2026 Dec 31, 2027 Record off site ↗
Warrick County Moratorium Aug 11, 2026 Feb 7, 2027 Record off site ↗
JeffersonvilleTown or city Moratorium Aug 3, 2026 Aug 3, 2027 Record off site ↗
New AlbanyTown or city Moratorium Jul 21, 2026 Jul 21, 2027 Record off site ↗
Martin County Moratorium Jul 15, 2026 Jul 15, 2027 Record off site ↗
Madison County Moratorium Jun 17, 2026 Dec 17, 2026 Record off site ↗
Boone County Moratorium Jun 15, 2026 Jun 15, 2027 Record off site ↗
MerrillvilleTown or city Moratorium Jun 1, 2026 Jan 1, 2028 Record off site ↗
Miami County Moratorium May 4, 2026 No end date Record off site ↗
Marshall County Ban Apr 20, 2026 No end date Record off site ↗
DeKalb County Moratorium Apr 13, 2026 Oct 13, 2026 Record off site ↗
Rush County Moratorium Mar 9, 2026 Mar 9, 2027 Record off site ↗
Grant County Moratorium Mar 2, 2026 Mar 2, 2028 Record off site ↗
Dearborn County Moratorium Feb 25, 2026 Feb 25, 2027 Record off site ↗
Franklin County Moratorium Feb 24, 2026 Feb 24, 2027 Record off site ↗
Fulton County Moratorium Feb 10, 2026 Feb 10, 2027 Record off site ↗
Huntington County Moratorium Feb 4, 2026 No end date Record off site ↗
Pulaski County Moratorium Feb 2, 2026 Feb 2, 2027 Record off site ↗
Starke County Moratorium Dec 1, 2025 Dec 1, 2026 Record off site ↗
Putnam County Moratorium Nov 17, 2025 Nov 17, 2026 Record off site ↗
Blackford County Moratorium Nov 3, 2025 Nov 3, 2026 Record off site ↗
Fountain County Moratorium Nov 3, 2025 Nov 3, 2026 Record off site ↗
Cass County Ban Not reported No end date Record off site ↗

Zoning limits on data centers

Rules short of a pause: setbacks, noise caps, permit requirements and district limits.

PlaceTypeStartedEnds
Hancock County Zoning limits Jun 16, 2026 No end date Record off site ↗
Parke County Zoning limits May 19, 2026 No end date Record off site ↗
Jay County Zoning limits May 11, 2026 No end date Record off site ↗
St. Joseph County Zoning limits Apr 28, 2026 No end date Record off site ↗
Warren County Zoning limits Mar 2, 2026 No end date Record off site ↗
Montgomery County Zoning limits Jan 12, 2026 No end date Record off site ↗
Tippecanoe County Zoning limits Oct 9, 2025 No end date Record off site ↗
LaPorte County Zoning limits Aug 13, 2025 No end date Record off site ↗
Lake County Zoning limits Aug 12, 2025 No end date Record off site ↗
Kosciusko County Zoning limits Feb 25, 2025 No end date Record off site ↗
Morgan County Zoning limits Feb 18, 2025 No end date Record off site ↗

Every project above is drawn from public records, filings and local reporting. Each row links to what it is based on. Statuses change, so check the source date before you rely on one. Found something wrong? Write to [email protected] and it gets fixed.