Home/United States/Virginia/Prince William County
Data centers in Prince William County, Virginia: 20 projects mapped
On July 2, 2026 two companies called GW Acquisition Co. filed a notice withdrawing their petition to the Virginia Supreme Court, and with it the Prince William Digital Gateway died after five years. At full build it would have been the largest data center campus in the world: more than 22 million square feet across roughly 2,000 acres along Pageland Lane, running up against the boundary of Manassas National Battlefield Park.
It was beaten in court on process rather than on planning. The Board of County Supervisors approved the rezoning in December 2023 after a public hearing that ran 27 hours. In January 2024 the American Battlefield Trust and a group of residents sued, arguing the county had rushed the zoning and cut short the public's chance to be heard. In August 2025 Prince William Circuit Court Judge Kimberly Irving voided the rezonings over improper public notice, and in March 2026 the Virginia Court of Appeals upheld her. By April the county itself and the co-developer, Compass Datacenters, had both dropped out of the appeal, leaving QTS alone in it until July.
Read more
The county spent public money on the losing side. Supervisors put more than $1.7 million of taxpayer funds into defending the rezoning alongside the developers, including a further $400,000 approved as the case went on. The campaign against it ran to two lawsuits and two electoral recalls.
The appetite changed with the verdict. Less than a week after QTS walked away, the same board rejected a rezoning for Dulles Cloud South, another data center proposal on a site of about 2,000 acres. A county that had been the second-largest data center market in Northern Virginia after Loudoun had turned down two of the biggest schemes ever put to it inside a fortnight.
What happens next is a state question as much as a local one. Virginia's 2026 legislation now requires customers drawing 25 megawatts or more to carry the cost of the generating capacity built for them, and Governor Spanberger's Executive Order 22, signed on September 18, 2026, requires local approval for projects above that threshold and bans the non-disclosure agreements that kept deals like this one out of public view while they were being negotiated.
Data center projects on record in Prince William County
Grouped by the town each site sits in. The report above may name projects that have no record here yet.
Manassas12
| Project | Company | Status | Power | |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| STACK Infrastructure NVA02Manassas | STACK Infrastructure | 420 MW | ||
| CloudHQ Manassas MCC CampusManassas | CloudHQ | 382 MW | ||
| CloudHQ Manassas MDC CampusManassas | CloudHQ | Proposed | 300 MW | |
| QTS Manassas 1Manassas | QTS | 190 MW | ||
| STACK Manassas (NVA05 Freedom Center)Manassas | STACK Infrastructure | Not reported | 150 MW | Source off site ↗ |
| AWS Manassas Innovation DriveManassas | STACK Infrastructure | Not reported | ||
| AWS Manassas Vulcan LaneManassas | Amazon Web Services | Proposed | Not reported | |
| CloudHQ Manassas (MCC1/MCC2)Manassas | CloudHQ | Not reported | ||
| Iron Mountain Virginia Campus (VA-1 to VA-9)Manassas | Iron Mountain Data Centers | Not reported | ||
| Microsoft Jacksonville Road (Manassas)Manassas | Microsoft | Under construction | Not reported | |
| Mid-County Industrial ParkManassas | Minnieville Capital Acquisitions LLC | Approved | Not reported | |
| PARSONS BUSINESS PARK LLCManassas | Amazon Data Services | Proposed | Not reported |
Bristow3
| Project | Company | Status | Power | |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Google BristowBristow | 238 MW | |||
| AWS Devlin Technology Park (Bristow)Bristow | Amazon Web Services | Approved | Not reported | |
| Digital Realty VA4 (Bristow)Bristow | Digital Realty | Not reported | Not reported | Source off site ↗ |
Gainesville2
| Project | Company | Status | Power | |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| NTT Gainesville Campus (VA10-VA13)GainesvilleExact site not confirmed | NTT Global Data Centers | Proposed | 336 MW | |
| Data centerGainesville | Black Chamber Partners, LLC | Proposed | Not reported |
Prince William County2
| Project | Company | Status | Power | |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Prince William Digital GatewayPrince William County | QTS / Compass | Withdrawn | 1,800 MW | |
| Sanders Lane Assemblage I LLC · Prince William CountyPrince William County | Sanders Lane Assemblage I LLC | Blocked | Not reported |
Haymarket1
| Project | Company | Status | Power | |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| AWS HaymarketHaymarket | Amazon Web Services | Not reported |
Where this comes from
The reporting above was written from these. Open one and check it yourself.
Zoning limits on data centers
Rules short of a pause: setbacks, noise caps, permit requirements and district limits.
| Place | Type | Started | Ends | |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Prince William County (countywide end of by-right zoning)County | Zoning limits | Sep 22, 2026 | No end date | Record off site ↗ |
Every project above is drawn from public records, filings and local reporting. Each row links to what it is based on. Statuses change, so check the source date before you rely on one. Found something wrong? Write to [email protected] and it gets fixed.