Home/United States/Georgia
Data centers in Georgia: 105 projects mapped
Georgia's biggest data center plan is Project Camellia, a campus of about 1,400 acres near Rincon in Effingham County that Octans Georgia, an OpenAI affiliate, plans to build. It could need up to 3.2 gigawatts (3,200 megawatts) of power. The county commission was due to vote on the plan September 15, then gave itself more time; no new date has been announced, and two lawsuits over the approvals are pending in Effingham County Superior Court.
In September, five residents and the environmental group One Hundred Miles sued the county's Industrial Development Authority, saying its July vote to commit the land to Octans and give it a 50% property tax break went ahead without proper notice or a meaningful agenda. Three other residents sued September 2 over the August zoning change that allows data centers on industrial land, saying the required hearings were skipped. "We bought into that neighborhood, into that area, because we wanted the quiet right to enjoyment," plaintiff Raymond Carver, who lives near the site, told the Effingham Herald.
Read more
Power is the statewide question. In December 2025 state regulators voted 5-0 to let Georgia Power add about 10,000 megawatts, 80% of it for data centers, at a construction cost of $16.3 billion; commission staff said customers would pay $50 billion to $60 billion over the coming decades. Georgia Power's chief executive, Chris Womack, told shareholders that once the OpenAI contract is confirmed, the utility will have promised about one gigawatt more than it has permission to provide.
Most other projects are around Atlanta and in the counties west and south of it. In Augusta, residents of the Haynes Station subdivision are fighting QTS's data center on Gordon Highway, an expanded version of a project approved before their homes were built; the commission's 49-day pause in June did not cover it. Local governments from Cobb and DeKalb counties to Valdosta and Albany now have 31 pauses on new data centers in force.
38 counties with tracked projects
Only places with at least one project have a page.
- Fulton County16
- Douglas County11
- Coweta County5
- Bartow County4
- Carroll County4
- Clayton County4
- Cobb County4
- Floyd County4
- Spalding County4
- DeKalb County3
- Fayette County3
- Henry County3
- Monroe County3
- Newton County3
- Troup County3
- Whitfield County3
- Bulloch County2
- Clarke County2
- Columbia County2
- Gwinnett County2
- Richmond County2
- Rockdale County2
- Crisp County1
- Early County1
- Effingham County1
- Gordon County1
- Hall County1
- Houston County1
- Irwin County1
- Jackson County1
- Jones County1
- Lamar County1
- Lowndes County1
- McDuffie County1
- Muscogee County1
- Twiggs County1
- Walton County1
- Washington County1
Where this comes from
The reporting above was written from these. Open one and check it yourself.
Where people here have won
Projects stopped by a vote, pulled by their developer, or blocked in court.
| Place | What happened | Date | Size | |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Lovejoy (Stillwater Technology Park)Stillwater Development | Withdrawn by the developer The developer withdrew after intense pushback over water use and nearby schools, and plans homes instead. | Aug 2026 | 400 acres, 15 buildings, 1.25 GW | |
| Douglas CountyEdgeConneX | Denied by a vote County Commission voted 4-1 to deny, the second denial on this site in 7 months. | Jul 7, 2026 | 700 acres, 4.4 million sq ft | |
| FayettevilleCrow Holdings Development | Withdrawn by the developer After the planning commission rejected it, the developer dropped its appeal to the city council. | Mar 2026 | Not reported | |
| Jones CountyEagleRock Partners (Crooked Creek Technology Park) | Withdrawn by the developer Developers withdrew the rezoning less than a day before the hearing after residents organized, and the county passed a 90-day moratorium. | Oct 2025 | 634 acres, 1.8 million sq ft | |
| Bolingbroke, Monroe CountyBolingbroke Technology Center | Denied by a vote County commissioners voted unanimously against the rezoning after the planning board also said no. Landowners have sued. | Aug 5, 2025 | 970 acres, 9 buildings, 5.4 million sq ft, 1.2 GW | |
| Adairsville, Bartow CountyAtlas Development | Withdrawn by the developer Withdrawn after the county planning commission recommended denial. | May 1, 2025 | 588 acres, 6 buildings, 432 MW |
Moratoriums and bans in effect
Places in Georgia that have paused or banned new data centers.
| Place | Type | Started | Ends | |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Lowndes County | Moratorium | Aug 25, 2026 | Oct 24, 2026 | Record off site ↗ |
| Cobb County | Moratorium | Aug 12, 2026 | Feb 8, 2027 | Record off site ↗ |
| Walker County | Moratorium | Aug 9, 2026 | Feb 5, 2027 | Record off site ↗ |
| Bulloch County | Moratorium | Aug 5, 2026 | Dec 31, 2026 | Record off site ↗ |
| AlbanyTown or city | Moratorium | Jul 30, 2026 | Jul 30, 2027 | Record off site ↗ |
| Paulding County | Moratorium | Jul 30, 2026 | Jan 1, 2027 | Record off site ↗ |
| Polk County | Moratorium | Jul 24, 2026 | Jul 24, 2027 | Record off site ↗ |
| ChambleeTown or city | Moratorium | Jul 22, 2026 | Jan 16, 2027 | Record off site ↗ |
| Cherokee County | Moratorium | Jul 21, 2026 | Feb 16, 2027 | Record off site ↗ |
| Dougherty County | Moratorium | Jul 20, 2026 | Mar 2, 2027 | Record off site ↗ |
| Warner RobinsTown or city | Moratorium | Jul 20, 2026 | Jan 20, 2027 | Record off site ↗ |
| MariettaTown or city | Moratorium | Jul 8, 2026 | Jan 8, 2027 | Record off site ↗ |
| Gordon County | Moratorium | Jul 8, 2026 | Jan 29, 2027 | Record off site ↗ |
| MiltonTown or city | Moratorium | Jun 16, 2026 | Jan 16, 2027 | Record off site ↗ |
| Garden CityTown or city | Moratorium | Jun 16, 2026 | Dec 16, 2026 | Record off site ↗ |
| Lee County | Moratorium | Jun 16, 2026 | Jun 16, 2027 | Record off site ↗ |
| Stephens County | Moratorium | May 26, 2026 | Oct 14, 2026 | Record off site ↗ |
| Camden County | Moratorium | May 2, 2026 | Nov 2, 2026 | Record off site ↗ |
| Decatur County | Moratorium | Apr 27, 2026 | No end date | Record off site ↗ |
| Newton County | Moratorium | Apr 8, 2026 | Oct 7, 2026 | Record off site ↗ |
| Hall County | Moratorium | Feb 26, 2026 | Feb 23, 2027 | Record off site ↗ |
| Thomas County | Moratorium | Jan 20, 2026 | Jan 20, 2027 | Record off site ↗ |
| Rockdale County | Moratorium | Jan 2026 | Oct 9, 2026 | Record off site ↗ |
| Monroe County | Moratorium | Dec 3, 2025 | No end date | Record off site ↗ |
| Pike County | Moratorium | Sep 10, 2025 | No end date | Record off site ↗ |
| Clayton County | Moratorium | Sep 3, 2025 | Dec 31, 2026 | Record off site ↗ |
| Lamar County | Moratorium | Sep 1, 2025 | No end date | Record off site ↗ |
| DeKalb County | Moratorium | Jul 8, 2025 | Mar 30, 2027 | Record off site ↗ |
| AtlantaTown or city | Ban | Oct 1, 2024 | No end date | Record off site ↗ |
| CalhounTown or city | Moratorium | Not reported | Jan 1, 2027 | Record off site ↗ |
Zoning limits on data centers
Rules short of a pause: setbacks, noise caps, permit requirements and district limits.
| Place | Type | Started | Ends | |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Coweta County | Zoning limits | Jun 2026 | Dec 23, 2026 | Record off site ↗ |
| Jones County | Zoning limits | Jan 16, 2026 | No end date | Record off site ↗ |
| Lumpkin County | Zoning limits | Mar 18, 2025 | No end date | Record off site ↗ |
| Forsyth County | Zoning limits | Mar 6, 2025 | No end date | Record off site ↗ |
| HamptonTown or city | Zoning limits | Feb 1, 2025 | No end date | Record off site ↗ |
| Bartow County | Zoning limits | Jan 1, 2025 | No end date | Record off site ↗ |
Every project above is drawn from public records, filings and local reporting. Each row links to what it is based on. Statuses change, so check the source date before you rely on one. Found something wrong? Write to [email protected] and it gets fixed.